Miss a Garden Party but Create a Garden for a Party!

Instead of going out to what sounded like a great garden party yesterday I listened to my Mum and put some effort into my own garden. Last weekend the garden started to take shape with the pop-up patio and the planting. In truth there were two pretty good parties after both lots of work.

So this weekend the job of painting the back wall had to be tackled.

GeneralView21July2013

The path now leads from the concrete area through the new evening sun-trap patio. I laid the path with flag stones and bricks that I found in the garden and laid on a base of soil. Once they have had time to settle I will lay them on sand put some mortar around.

I’m really pleased with now having a wall looking more sanitised than satanic! I still wonder if I could have had a more washed-out  white to hint at the real colour of the bricks, but it’s a difficult task to pull off at such a scale.

ViewOfGardenSun21July

The garden is now a much more welcoming place with the scope to paint the back wall with some kind of scene and maybe do some more planting against it.

The idea of growing a hydrangea was mentioned as was a clematis and roses – all of them framing a door which leads into a another garden.  The view below gives an idea of the size of the wall… What does anybody think?

WallPaintedWhite

 

I reckon I would need to ask the owners of this house what they think about the whole surface being covered with some big frieze? They also need some sort of access to their roof in case it needs repair… Does anybody have experience of this?


4 comments

  1. Aled this looks great. Can’t wait to one day have a cup of tea in your lovely little garden – good job on the flagstones and paintwork, looks brilliant!

  2. Pingback: Rustic Compost Bin & Hedge Cut « DIYObsession.co.uk

  3. Pingback: Garden gets some love! « DIYObsession.co.uk


Leave a comment